The Dream Job (Part I)

I recently received my BS in marketing from the University of Maryland’s Smith School of Business. During my time at UMD, I kept trying to figure out what to do with my future, just as any college student would do. Unlike many others, I came into college without a major. I took classes in many different schools and found that I liked my business and communications classes the most. While the business school required a real application and only some applicants would get in, the communications program had less strict requirements. I decided to apply to the business school and communications became my backup. I remember being terrified to open the application status after some of my peers said that the decision was out. When I finally did, I found out that I was accepted to the Smith School… as an accounting major for the beginning of my junior year.

Originally, I had applied as an accounting major. After taking all of the gateway courses for the business school, I realized that this major was not ideal for me. I wanted to be able to be a little more creative. I then switched my major (without having to fill out a real application) to marketing.

Marketing became my true home. From analytics, to social media and consumer psychology- all of it was just so exciting. While I am not the most artistic, I found my creative way with marketing.

I now want to put my degree to use. While you may think this is simple since marketing is so broad, I can tell you that it is too complex for you to understand. A marketing degree allows for careers in branding, social media, sales, recruiting, product development, marketing research, copywriting, blogging, email marketing, and so much more. While  sales and recruiting positions seem to be more available, the “hard-core” marketing jobs are more difficult to find. Of course, I am much more interested in the “hard-core” marketing jobs. My dream marketing job would be to do something in analytics, social media, or branding.

My hope is that one day I can put my marketing skills to use for a company in the travel industry. I love marketing, but it is really difficult to ignore my extreme passion for  cruising and other types of travel.

 

Want to know more? Part II is now available!

2 thoughts on “The Dream Job (Part I)

  1. Pingback: The Dream Job (Part 2) | Amanda Cruises

  2. Pingback: The Dream Job (Part III) | Amanda Cruises

Leave a Reply

